Featured News

ACL announces additional performers for 2015 Hall of Fame

Austin City Limits announces additional guest performers for the 2015 ACL Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Thursday, June 18th.  Americana original Lyle Lovett and acoustic duo Gillian Welch join previously announced performers: country legend Vince Gill, acclaimed singer-songwriter Jason Isbell, multi-platinum country artist Patty Loveless, British singer-songwriter Laura Marling, Los Lobos frontman David Hidalgo, GRAMMY-winning conjunto band Los Texmaniacs and Texas singer-songwriter JT Van Zandt. Hosted by multiple GRAMMY Award-winning country star Dwight Yoakam, who will also perform, the celebration honors the second class of inductees with one-of-a-kind music performances and tributes, as five trailblazing artists are inducted: Asleep at the Wheel, Loretta Lynn, Guy Clark, Flaco Jiménez and Townes Van Zandt.

All-star guest presenters will handle induction honors in what is sure to be a memorable night: Vince Gill will induct Western swing institution Asleep at the Wheel, Lyle Lovett inducts fellow Texan Guy Clark, Dwight Yoakam inducts master Tex-Mex accordionist Flaco Jiménez, and Gillian Welch is set to honor songwriting hero Townes Van Zandt.  Country icon Loretta Lynn will accept her honor in a special video for the occasion.  Inductees Asleep at the Wheel and Flaco Jiménez will also perform at the ceremony. Renowned steel guitarist and producer Lloyd Maines, inducted last year into the ACL Hall of Fame, returns as Music Director, leading an Austin all-star house band.

photo by Mark Seliger

The event is open to the public this year and will take place at ACL’s studio home, Austin’s ACL Live at the Moody Theater. A limited number of tickets are available at Musical highlights and inductions from the ceremony will be broadcast in a special episode as part of ACL’s Season 41 which premieres in the fall on PBS.