Featured News

ACL Hall of Fame 2016: ZZ Top’s Billy Gibbons, B.B. King’s Blues Band and Eve Monsees Added to Line-Up

Austin City Limits proudly announces additional guests for its sold-out 2016 Austin City Limits Hall of Fame Inductions & Celebration on October 12th. Two Texas natives, ZZ Top’s Billy Gibbons and blues standout Eve Monsees, along with B.B. King’s Blues Band, the late bluesman’s touring band, join previously announced performers: Willie Nelson, Mavis Staples, Rodney Crowell, Gary Clark Jr. and Taj Mahal. The celebration will feature one-of- a-kind music performances and tributes, as three giants of American music are inducted into the third annual Austin City Limits Hall of Fame: B.B. King, Bonnie Raitt and Kris Kristofferson. Comedy super couple Nick Offerman and Megan Mullally will co-host the celebratory evening. Joining the superstar line-up will be honorees Kris Kristofferson and Bonnie Raitt, who will also perform. Sponsorships are still available.

All-star guest performers will handle induction honors in what is sure to be a historic night: ZZ Top’s Billy Gibbons will induct the late, great blues titan B.B. King, and will be joined by B.B. King’s Blues Band, featuring some of the original bandmembers who performed alongside King on his infamous 1983 ACL debut. Joining the musical tribute will be current blues sensation Gary Clark Jr. and longtime friend, guitarist Eve Monsees, along with ACL Hall of Fame honorees Willie Nelson and Bonnie Raitt. Country music trailblazer Rodney Crowell will induct singer-songwriter icon Kris Kristofferson, and Crowell will perform in tribute joined by Willie Nelson. Gospel and soul legend Mavis Staples, appearing on stage with blues kingpin Taj Mahal and Willie Nelson, inducts the legendary Bonnie Raitt.

Lloyd Maines returns as Music Director, leading an all-star house band. In addition to being one of the most respected music producers and musicians in Texas and beyond, and an Austin City Limits Hall of Fame inductee, Maines has performed on more ACL shows than any other single musician.

The sold-out event will take place Wednesday, October 12 at ACL’s studio home, Austin’s ACL Live at The Moody Theater. Musical highlights and inductions from the ceremony will be broadcast in a special New Year’s Eve episode to air as part of ACL’s Season 42 which premieres October 1st on PBS.

The Austin City Limits Hall of Fame was established in 2014 to celebrate the legacy of legendary artists and key individuals who have played a vital part in the pioneering music series remarkable 40+ years as a music institution. The inaugural induction ceremony in 2014 honored Willie Nelson, Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble, Lloyd Maines, program creator Bill Arhos and Darrell Royal. 2015’s second annual ACL Hall of Fame ceremony honored Asleep at the Wheel, Loretta Lynn, Guy Clark, Flaco Jiménez and Townes Van Zandt, along with the original crew of the show’s first season in 1974-75.

ACL continues its mission of producing great television with the debut of its 42nd season October 1, 2016 featuring a special hour with music legend Paul Simon in his ACL debut. The upcoming Season 42 is filled with musical highlights, including the first-ever appearance by punk-rock forefather Iggy Pop, ACL debuts from acclaimed singer-songwriters James Bay, Rhiannon Giddens, Andra Day and Latin Grammy-winner Natalia Lafourcade and highly-anticipated return appearances from music giant Robert Plant, My Morning Jacket, Florence + The Machine, Ben Harper and Latin funk orchestra Grupo Fantasma.

Austin City Limits and the Austin City Limits Hall of Fame are produced by KLRU-TV, Austin PBS. KLRU is a non-profit organization providing public television and educational resources to Central Texas as well as producing quality national programming. Net proceeds from the October 12 event benefit KLRU.

The 2016 Austin City Limits Hall of Fame is sponsored in part by SanDisk, Stratus Properties, Heritage Title Company of Austin, Dell and Cousins Properties.